Boundary Maps

View maps to see boundaries of the areas used to collect 2006 Census information.

The maps are in a hierarchy of geographic areas, with 16 regions, 64 cities and districts (territorial authorities) and about 2,000 suburbs and rural neighbourhoods (area units).

Use the place list or place search below to choose a place.

Place List

For a boundary map of New Zealand or of a region, click on its name in the list below. To find a map for a smaller place, expand the list of places, then click on the name of a place.

To find a city or district click on the plus icon in front of a region and see cities and districts within that region. To find a neighbourhood, click on the plus icon in front of a city or district and see its suburbs and neighbourhoods.