Stats NZ has a new website.

For new releases go to

As we transition to our new site, you'll still find some Stats NZ information here on this archive site.

  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+
Local Authority Financial Statistics: Year ended June 2012
Embargoed until 10:45am  –  24 July 2013
Data quality

Period-specific information
This section contains data information that has changed since the last release.

General information
This section contains information that does not change between releases.

Period-specific information

Reference period

This information release presents data collected from local authorities for the year ended June 2012. Data for previous years may have been revised where misallocations became apparent.

General information

Data source

We collect data on local authorities' finances in the Local Authority Census, a comprehensive and detailed questionnaire. For most local authorities, the requested data will be based on their audited financial accounts, supplemented by information from individual local authority annual reports and subsequent enquires to councils.

Local authorities by region

Northland region: Far North District Council, Kaipara District Council, Northland Regional Council, and Whangarei District Council.

Auckland region: Auckland City Council, Auckland Council, Auckland Regional Council, Auckland Regional Transport Authority, Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development, Auckland Transport, Auckland Waterfront Development Agency Ltd, Franklin District Council, Manukau City Council, North Shore City Council, Papakura District Council, Rodney District Council, and Waitakere City Council.

Waikato region: Otorohanga District Council, Thames-Coromandel District Council, Hamilton City Council, Waitomo District Council, Waipa District Council, Hauraki District Council, Waikato District Council, Taupo District Council, Matamata-Piako District Council, South Waikato District Council, and Waikato Regional Council.

Bay of Plenty region: Opotiki District Council, Whakatane District Council, Rotorua District Council, Kawerau District Council, Western Bay of Plenty District Council, Tauranga City Council, and Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

Gisborne region: Gisborne District Council.

Hawke’s Bay region: Napier City Council, Wairoa District Council, Hastings District Council, Central Hawkes Bay District Council, and Hawkes Bay Regional Council.

Taranaki region: Stratford District Council, South Taranaki District Council, New Plymouth District Council, and Taranaki Regional Council.

Manawatu-Wanganui region: Tararua District Council, Palmerston North City Council, Rangitikei District Council, Wanganui District Council, Horowhenua District Council, Ruapehu District Council, Manawatu District Council, and Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council.

Wellington region: Hutt City Council, Porirua City Council, Upper Hutt City Council, Wellington City Council, Greater Wellington Regional Council, Masterton District Council, Carterton District Council, South Wairarapa District Council, and Kapiti Coast District Council.

Marlborough region: Marlborough District Council.

Nelson region: Nelson City Council.

Tasman region: Tasman District Council.

West Coast region: Buller District Council, Grey District Council, Westland District Council, and West Coast Regional Council.

Canterbury region: Christchurch City Council, Waimate District Council, Kaikoura District Council, Ashburton District Council, Mackenzie District Council, Timaru District Council, Selwyn District Council, Waimakariri District Council, Hurunui District Council, and Canterbury Regional Council.

Otago region: Queenstown Lakes District Council, Dunedin City Council, Central Otago District Council, Clutha District Council, Waitaki District Council, and Otago Regional Council.

Southland region: Invercargill City Council, Southland District Council, Gore District Council, and Southland Regional Council.

Area outside region: Chatham Islands Council.

Accuracy of the data

As local authorities have varying organisational structures and accounting systems, data for some council activities and data items is not always readily available. Therefore, it is sometimes estimated (by either the local authority or by Statistics NZ). We don't expect such estimation to materially affect any statistics produced.

Consistency with other periods or datasets

Most data items are consistent over time. However, there are breaks in the time series for some items, due to changes in the questionnaire used to collect the data.

Statistics in this release are consistent with other related economic statistics compiled by Statistics NZ, such as the Government Finance Statistics (Local Government), the Government Institutional Sector Accounts, and the Local Authority Statistics.

Interpreting the data

See local councils for more detailed information about local authoritites.

Choose 'council profiles A-Z' to find your council.
See the 'financial profile' under 'key financial statistics'. The profile gives you more detail about council activities and the items used in this release (eg expenditure by activity).

How the creation of the Auckland Council affected local authority statistics

The data presented in this release are available for each local authority in New Zealand. The statistics are based on their financial accounts. The latest available figures are for the year ended June 2012. These statistics include data for the councils that combined to form Auckland Council on 1 November 2010, as well as data for the new council. The eight councils that were replaced by the new Auckland Council were Auckland City Council, Auckland Regional Council, Franklin District Council, Manukau District Council, North Shore City Council, Papakura District Council, Rodney District Council, and Waitakere District Council. We have made no attempt to show an aggregate response for what is now one Auckland council.

Timing of the published data

Local authority financial statistics are published 13 months after the end of the reference year. This is to allow for local authorities to complete their accounts, including auditors’ approval and processing of questionnaires by Statistics NZ.

Our information releases are delivered electronically by third parties. Delivery may be delayed by circumstances outside our control. Statistics NZ does not accept responsibility for any such delay.

More information

See local government for more information.


While care has been used in processing, analysing, and extracting information, Statistics NZ gives no warranty that the information supplied is error-free. Statistics NZ shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of any information, product, or service.

Crown copyright ©

Creative Commons logo.
This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand licence. You are free to copy, distribute, and adapt the work, as long as you attribute the work to Statistics NZ and abide by the other licence terms. Please note you may not use any departmental or governmental emblem, logo, or coat of arms in any way that infringes any provision of the Flags, Emblems, and Names Protection Act 1981. Use the wording 'Statistics New Zealand' in your attribution, not the Statistics NZ logo.

  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+
  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+